Miss Haley and the Oobleck 

Today my class read Bartholomew and the Oobleck. Later in the afternoon my teacher and I made enough oobleck for 900 people (at least that is what it felt like!). We started making it while the students were at specials. Standing close together at the sink in the back of the classroom, we ended up covering each other with cornstarch. Fortunately or maybe unfortunately for me, my teacher was the one making the biggest mess. It meant that I wasn’t the biggest problem but I was the one who go covered head to toe. My mess is the one on the right side, hers is on the left! 

 The best part was that the students loved it! My university really pushes not doing anything that does not absolutely align with a standard so it has been a long time since I have done anything that fun at school. My students were so excited about it I thought they were going to pee their pants! 

I showed one student that if you pour it into your hands it will slip out between your fingers and run all over. Then all of the student asked me to put it in their hands. I haven’t laughed so hard in a long time! 

One student came into the room and told me he was afraid of it. He told me he would not touch it. I put both of my hands in the big pan of it and showed him it was not that scary or gross. I scooped it up and made a little ball and we watched it get flat. He then exclaimed, “I like that! I want to play with it!” He ended up covered with cornstarch all over him. My teacher and I were laughing about I because he started out not even wanting to touch it and ended up practically bathing in it! 

Even though it took my teacher and I an hour to clean it all up it was such a fun time! 

  

Leave a Reply

